Huntstanton Primary


New Governor Required

The role of a school governor at Hunstanton Primary School

Governors' Annual Statement 2020

View document governors/governance_annual_statement_2020.pdf

Hunstanton Primary School Governing Body

In accordance with the Government's requirement for all governing bodies, the 3 core strategic functions of Hunstanton Primary School Governing Body are:

1. Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;

2. Holding the head teacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils;

3. Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governance Arrangements

The governing Body of Hunstanton Primary School was reconstituted in 2016 and is now made up of 1 Staff governor (plus the headteacher), 3 elected Parent governors, 1 Local Authority governor, 4 Co-opted governors, 2 Partnership Governors and 1 Associate governor.

Co-opted governors are appointed by the Governing Body and are people who, in the opinion of the Governing Body, have the skills required to contribute to the effective governance and success of the school.

The Full Governing Body meets every four weeks and we also, if needed, form working parties to consider different aspects of the school in detail. We also have committees that meet if required to consider pupil discipline and staffing matters.

Our School Governors:

Chair of Governors - Janet Copeland (Co-opted governor)

Headteacher - Di Mapplebeck

Parent Governors -  Claire Quinn, Jenny McGee Butler

Local Authority Governor - Maureen Stacey (Vice Chair)

Staff Governor - Kathryn Herculson

Partnership Governors - James Monro

Associate Governor  - TBA

Co-opted Governors - Stephen Jones, Jane Fawkes and Chris Hutchinson

Clerk to the Governors - Jane Hill

Roles & Responsibilities 2019/2020:

Janet Copeland - Safeguarding (inc. Looked after children) and Behaviour

Jane Fawkes - Finance and Numeracy

Chris Hutchinson - Website, Health & Safety, Humanities

Stephen Jones - Sports Premium and PE

Jenny McGee Butler - Pupil Premium and ICT

James Monro - British Values, RE, PHSE (inc. RSE)

Claire Quinn - Design & Technology, Science and Arts

TBA - Data Analysis 

Maureen Stacey - SEND and Literacy

Please click on the documents below for further information about our Governing Body:

Meet Your Governors

Contact The Governors

The governors always welcome suggestions, feedback and ideas from parents - please contact the Chair of Governors via the school office.

Governor Attendance at Meetings

Governors have very good attendance at meetings and  have only ever cancelled one meeting because it was not "quorate".

Please refer to the Governors' Annual Statement at the top of the page for information about governor attendance at meetings.

Governor Business Interests

Janet Copeland


Jane Fawkes


Kathryn Herculson


Chris Hutchinson


Stephen Jones


Jenny McGee-Butler


James Monro


Claire Quinn


Sarah Robinson

is a teacher at Smithdon High school. Resigned as a governor October 2020.

Maureen Stacey